POSTPONED - Orava Quartet - Mozart, Beethoven and Schulhoff (Fri 24 April, 7.30pm)

Updated: Mar 23, 2020

The ‘world class’ quartet share an exciting program of orchestral firsts

Orava Quartet were the first Australian string quartet invited to sign with Universal Music and continuing with this theme they will bring you a classic program of fabulous firsts!

The concert will open with Mozart's first string quartet which he wrote in its original three-movement form in 1770 while just 14 years old. While a fourth movement was added later, the work nonetheless shows the promise of young Mozart's instinctive feel for the string quartet form. Beethoven's first 'Razumovsky' quartet follows, the first of three works written for the Russian ambassador to Vienna, Count Andreas Razumovsky and heralding not only a lengthier format but also a popular Russian theme to listen for in its final movement. Bringing the concert to a magnificent close will be Erwin Schulhoff's first string quartet, a memorable testament to the eclectic styles and moods of the 1920s as well the composer's Czech heritage.

After their stunning concert at RPAC last year, get set for another thrilling performance by the Orava Quartet, as they bring their unique sound and breathtaking intensity to the classics of the string quartet canon.

‘Impeccable balance and pinpoint intonation’ Limelight Magazine

‘The real deal’ The Australian

‘World class’ The Mercury

Tickets: $20 - $30

Read More and Buy Tickets>>

You can book your tickets in person at RPAC Box Office, 2–16 Middle Street, Cleveland or by phone on 3829 8131 or online at rpac.com.au

6 views0 comments